Wednesday, August 14, 2013

2013 TAMP Convention - Great Success!

The 27th annual Texas Association of Meat Processors Convention was held August 8-10, 2013 in College Station, TX.  The convention was a huge success with 23 plant member and 24 supplier member companies in attendance.

Dr. Kerri Harris discussed regulatory changes and recall plan
strategies with TAMP members.
Texas A&M University Associate Professor Dr. Wes Osburn led a team including Rick Fitzgerald from A.C. Legg and Dr. David Hull from Wenda Ingredients to provide a tremendous convention educational program on the use of non-meat ingredients in all types of products.  In addition, Dr. Kerri Harris, TAMU Associate Professor and CEO of the International HACP Alliance led a detailed discussion about food safety regulations and how to develop a recall plan.

Dr. Wes Osburn works to get the batch just right!

Dr. David Hull discusses a processed bacon item with participants.

Other activities during the TAMP convention included the annual Dr. Frank and Pearl Orts Scholarship Golf Tournament that helps raise funds for student scholarships, a fun night playing the "Friendly Feud" game, a cupcake decorating class, the annual supplier show, the Processed Meat Product Show and the annual dinner and auction.

Winners of the golf tournament were
(l-r) Robert Henson, Justin Adendorff,
Davey Griffin & Richard Limmer.
Most colorful golf team (l-r) Scott Grumbles,
Candice Ronshausen, Amy James &
Bill Noble. 

Two foot long hotdogs were provided for lunch by Slovacek Sausage!
Processed Meat Product Show
Annual suppliers show brought together suppliers and processors .

Cupcake decorating

Officers and Directors for TAMP were installed during the convention.  They include:

  • President                                    Rod Klemke (Klemke’s Sausage Haus)
  • 1st Vice President                     Terry Moench (TM Moody’s Quality Meats)
  • 2nd Vice President                   Wayne Hall (Kaufman Locker Plant)
  • Treasurer                                  Laura Doskocil (Slovacek Sausage Co.)
  • Sergeant at Arms                      Scott Grumbles (Hudson Sausage/Klein Smoked Meats)
  • Past President                           Terry Wiese (Readfield Meats)
  • Northwest Director                   Kent Wenzel (Wenzel Lone Star Meat Co.)
  • Northeast Director                    Ben Buses (Bluebonnet Meat Company)
  • Southwest Director                   Marvin Dziuk (Dziuk’s Meat Market)
  • Southeast Director                    Jerrod Poffenberger (Bellville Meat Market)
  • Director at Large                      Andy Riemitis (Summer Creek Farms)
  • Director at Large                      Kip Thompson (Harvest House Farms)
  • Director at Large                      Bill Roegelein (The Laxon Co.)
  • Director at Large                      Allen Stanton (Stanton’s Shopping Center)
  • Supplier Director 1*                 Cecelia Railey (Jim Henry Enterprises)
  • Supplier Director 2*                 Mike Reagan (Dewied International)


  1. This is very great success! And I want your goals and objectives for this event.. "Goals and Objectives of TAMP
    •To further the use of fresh and frozen meat and meat products
    •To promote processed meat products through education and research.
    •To promote the general welfare of the meat industry and to facilitate the interchange of information between members."
    Like our Food Processing Equipment & Supplies.

  2. “As a military family, we are very thankful for Mr Lee professional service. he was attentive, knowledgeable and took his time to walk us through the loan process. We were informed in a timely manner of any pertinent details we needed to take into account. He was very approachable, understanding and trustworthy. We can’t thank him enough for his excellent service. We highly recommend his and feel blessed to have had his loan assistance to enable us have our home purchase. Military and non military families, Mr Lee  you would want to work with for your home purchase & any kind of loan asistance!”  
    Mr Lee Loan Officer Contact Details:WhatsApp : + 1-989-394-3740E-Mail: